h1

Kenny Rogers : Know When To Hold Em

April 6, 2011

Kenny Rogers…. Kenny Rogers was one of the many people to regularly visit my parent’s office during my childhood on Music row. Naomi Judd, Sawyer Brown, Alan Jackson, the list goes on and on. But Kenny Rogers may be the most interesting and embarrassing celebrity encounter I ever had. The encounter was probably even more embarrassing for my parents.

The reason for the red faces is due to the fact that I was a HUGE Spider-Man fan. I even went to visit Spider-Man at the mall when he took a break from crime fighting.

So naturally I HAD TO HAVE the Amazing Spider-Man hand! This thing was cool! Spider-Man’s hand was on the end of a stick with attached handle and when you squeezed on the handle it would make the hand grip! It was awesome! So anyway… back to Kenny Rogers. Kenny was just finishing a jog on Music Row and got in the elevator with my mom and I up to the office. I had just gotten the Spidey Hand and was anxious to grab anything that I could with it. Well, the only thing new in the elevator was Kenny, and for some unknown reason the hand ended up between his legs. One pull of the handle and Kenny just about hit the ceiling! After mom pulled my Spidey hand quickly back and Kenny figured out what happened… he sheepishly laughed, patted me on the head and jogged out of the elevator into the office. One of the most embarrassing moments of my life… except for the time that I rang the Liberty Bell. I’ll save that for another post.

-Cam

Leave a comment